Review Committees

Review Committees-International

Peer review is considered to be the gold standard for accreditation. Decisions made by like-minded experts who must work by the same rules and guidelines they are using to evaluate programs helps to maintain quality and patient safety and improve graduate medical education in ACGME-I-accredited Sponsoring Institutions and programs. The membership of the Review Committees-International includes a broad range of specialties and countries to support the peer-review process.

The Review Committees are responsible for reviewing Sponsoring Institutions and programs for compliance with ACGME-I requirements; for developing Institutional, Foundational, and Advanced Specialty Requirements; and for establishing ACGME-I accreditation policies for approval by the ACGME-I Board of Directors.

Review Committee members include designated institutional officials (DIOs) and program directors of ACGME-I-accredited Sponsoring Institutions and programs and from US graduate medical education. All members hold leadership roles at their respective institutions. Most members from the US formerly served on their own specialty’s Review Committee or on the ACGME Board of Directors.

There are two Review Committees divided by specialty. The Medicine-based Review Committee-International reviews programs in the medicine-related specialties, including family medicine, internal medicine and internal medicine subspecialties, neurology, pediatrics, and psychiatry. The Surgical/Hospital-based Review Committee-International reviews programs in the surgical and hospital-based specialties, including anesthesiology, emergency medicine, general surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopaedic surgery, and radiology.

Members serve terms from three to six years in length, and elect their own chairperson and vice chairperson. Nominations are accepted on a periodic basis from the international community with selection based on country representation and content expertise.

The members of the Review Committees-International are:

Medicine-based Review Committee

  • Sophia Archuleta, National University Health System, Singapore – Internal Medicine, Chair
  • Stacy Potts, University of Massachusetts, US – Family Medicine, Vice Chair
  • Ahmed Alhammadi, SIDRA Medicine, Qatar – Pediatrics
  • Ann E. Burke, Dayton Children’s Hospital, US - Pediatrics
  • Basem Saab, American University Beirut, Lebanon – Family Medicine
  • Nadia N. Khouri, Tahaddi, Lebanon - Public Member
  • Rilong Hong, Singapore Health Services, Singapore – Cardiology, Resident Member
  • Sawsan Abdel-Razig, Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, UAE – Designated Institutional Official
  • See Meng Khoo, National University Health System, Singapore – Internal Medicine


Surgical/Hospital-based Review Committee

  • Salah Gehani, Hamad Medical Corporation, Qatar – General Surgery, Chair
  • Paula Termuhlen, WMU Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine, US – General Surgery, Vice Chair
  • Julie Georges Sakkab, American University of Beirut, Lebanon - Public Member
  • James Anderson, Oregon Health & Science University, US - Radiology
  • Maryam Al Qaydi, Tawam Hospital, Abu Dhabi, UAE – Otolaryngology
  • Neela Al Lamki, Oman Medical Specialty Board, Oman – Radiology
  • Nihal Al Riyami, Oman Medical Specialty Board, Oman – Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Sahar Siddik-Sayyid, American University of Beirut, Lebanon – Anesthesiology
  • Sara AlAbadla, Corniche Hospital, Abu Dhabi, UAE – Obstetrics and Gynecology, Resident Member
  • Shirley Ooi, National University Health System, Singapore – Emergency Medicine