ACGME-I Thanks Outgoing Review Committees-International Members

The current cohort of the Review Committees-International held its final scheduled meeting of the academic year in early May. This also marks the conclusion of the terms of eight members – four from each committee – including both Chairs, at the end of June.

From the Medicine-Based Review Committee:

  • Sophia Archuleta, MD
  • Rilong Hong, MBBS (HON), MRCP (UK)
  • Basem Saab, MD
  • See Meng Khoo, MBBS, FRCP, MMED, MHPE 

From the Surgical/Hospital-Based Review Committee:

  • Salahddin Gehani, MBChB, MSc
  • Sara AlAbadla, MB, BCh, BAO, LRCPI and LRCST
  • Neela Al Lamki, MD
  • Nihal Al Riyami, MD 

“The contribution that each of these physician educators has made to GME [graduate medical education] around the world has been invaluable,” said ACGME-I Executive Director Lorraine Lewis, EdD. “Their time and talent were freely given to advance quality GME and they will always be members of the ACGME-I family.”

Outgoing Chair Dr. Gehani reflected on the work the volunteer body performed, calling it “a small committee with international impact in medical education.”

“The work of the Review Committee is incredibly meaningful,” added outgoing Chair Dr. Archuleta, adding that “as a medical educator, it was a career highlight to work with such a committed group to enhance medical education globally.”

During the two-day meeting, new Chairs for the next academic year were elected. Starting 1 July, Sawsan Abdel-Razig, MD, MEHP, the chief academic officer at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, UAE, will lead the Medicine-Based Review Committee, and Paula Termulhen, MD, FACS, the outgoing dean of Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine, US, will lead the Surgical/Hospital-Based Review Committee.

ACGME-I would like to offer its profound appreciation for the dedication and efforts made by these dedicated volunteers throughout their tenures. “From me and the rest of the ACGME-I staff, we just can’t thank you enough,” said Lewis.

See related Newsroom post on new programs accredited in Haiti and Qatar.